Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Deleting a VIN

.

Service > Miscellaneous > All Vehicles

How do I delete a vehicle in VUE DMS?

To delete a vehicle in VUE DMS, navigate to Service > Miscellaneous > All Vehicles, locate the vehicle in the primary grid, ensure it is not in stock and has no scheduled costs, then use the Delete option in the More dropdown in the Action Ribbon. Deleted VINs are not permanently removed — they are transferred to Unknown VIN Owners.

Note: Vehicles that are in inventory, have service history, or have a scheduled cost cannot be deleted.
  • If the vehicle is in stock, Transfer it to another customer before proceeding.
  • If the vehicle has a scheduled cost, resolve or remove the scheduled cost before proceeding.
  • If the vehicle has service history, deletion is blocked and cannot be overridden. Contact your system administrator for guidance.

  • If the vehicle is in stock, Transfer it to another customer before proceeding.
  • Resolve any scheduled costs before attempting to delete the vehicle.

How do I locate the vehicle in the primary grid?

  1. Filter/Sort the primary grid to locate the vehicle.

  2. Select the vehicle by clicking on the corresponding line.

How do I delete the vehicle from its record?

  1. Hover over the [More] icon in the Action Ribbon.

    1. Transfer and Delete become available in the [More] dropdown once the vehicle is not in stock and has no cost.

  2. Select the Delete option from the dropdown.

  3. Click the [Yes] button.

Important:

What happens to a VIN when a vehicle is deleted?

Important: VINs are not permanently deleted in VUE DMS. When a VIN is deleted, it is transferred from the customer record to Unknown VIN Owners and the Owner field will appear blank.

When a VIN is deleted, it is transferred from the customer record to Unknown VIN Owners and the Owner field will appear blank.

Did this answer your question?